In this blog post we are getting into all the nitty gritty details you didn't even know you needed to think about when figuring out what gluten-free condiments are safe for you to use. Whether you're looking for a bottle of mayo, ketchup, mustard, or more, we have all the info on what brands do and do not have gluten-containing ingredients.
An important thing to develop in gluten-free living is a strong ability to read labels for yourself and not always rely on what others have told you. The truth is, many manufacturers of different brands of sauces have had to change ingredients over time due to stock availability and other things, so always do your own research.
However, we have done our own research at the time this was published, but please know that things may have changed since then.
Does mayonnaise have gluten
Typically, the ingredients found in mayo are naturally gluten free ingredients. So, no, most mayo does not have gluten in it.
The basics of most commercial mayonnaise brands out there are made with the following ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon, various herbs and spices, and sometimes mustard seeds .
Yes, there will be variations between brands, and yes, there are even more variations on mayo out there now than there were years ago, but in general, mayo should be gluten free.
Always check the ingredient list of the labels of your mayonnaise to ensure there is no obvious or hidden forms of gluten.
You'll also be happy to know there are many brands of mayonnaise that have a certified gluten free label on them, meaning they have been through extra rigorous testing to be sure that they are in fact gluten free, and will be safe for those following a gluten-free diet or those who have celiac disease. To learn more about the multiple gluten free mayo brands, keep reading below.
Is tomato ketchup gluten-free
The ingredients used in ketchup do not contain any gluten, wheat, barley or rye. So, tomato ketchup is naturally gluten free. However, there are some brands that use a wheat derived vinegar in their ketchup ingredients, which can pose a cross contamination risk if it is produced in a factory where other gluten containing ingredients may be processed. So, it is important to check the labels of all of your ketchup, just to be sure.
It would also be advantageous of you to check the allergen statement of these companies every so often to ensure they aren't changing things up without letting you know. With shortages going around, some companies have had to change ingredients, so unless it is gluten free certified, always double-check.
Is French's ketchup gluten-free
French's Ketchup is made by McCormick, and on their website, they state "Made using fresh-harvested California tomatoes for a sweet and tangy taste, French’s® Tomato Ketchup is non-GMO project verified, gluten-free and free from high fructose corn syrup, artificial colors and artificial flavors to bring consistent flavor and performance in recipes and on your tables".
So, yes, French's ketchup is gluten free and should be a safe brand to trust.
Is Heinz ketchup gluten-free
Heinz ketchup appears to be gluten free as there doesn't seem to be any gluten containing ingredients in their ingredient list. The only remotely questionable thing it has is distilled vinegar, however, whenever you look at their website under the allergen area it does not say any are listed for this brand of ketchup.
You could always reach out to the company itself as this brand of ketchup has not chosen to get certified as a gluten free product, nor does it label itself as gluten free, but the ingredients appear to be safe.
What mayonnaise is gluten-free
Helllman's Mayo is naturally gluten free, meaning it does not contain any specific wheat ingredients or wheat derived ingredients, however it does not have a seal of being certified gluten free.
There are a few more mayo brands that appear to be gluten free. One important thing to remember, even when looking at these brands, there are some brands who now make different mayo varieties using different ingredients, which some varieties may contain gluten, so unless you're getting the classic mayo of any of these brands, we suggest that you check the labels just to be sure.
Here are some more mayonnaise brands that are gluten free:
- Blue Plate
- Primal Kitchen
- Sir Kensington’s
- Trader Joe’s
Is mustard gluten free
Just like the rest of these condiments, mustard is naturally gluten-free since it is made from a plant. Mustard seeds are typically ground into a powder or another substance and can be used in different things, like naturally gluten-free mustard.
However, some manufacturers may use a thickener or bulking agent to get their mustard to a different consistency. This is where you may find some gluten, so as always, check the labels to see what your brand of mustard uses or doesn't use.
Try to find one at your local grocery store that just uses basic ingredients that you know are gluten free and safe that you can stick to.
Is relish gluten free
Relish is usually made with pickled cucumbers and a few other vegetables, vinegar, and some spices. Most of the brands of relish that you buy at the store are made without gluten containing ingredients.
However, it's always safe to check labels, especially since vinegar is used for pickling and some vinegar is derived from wheat containing ingredients or has a higher chance of being cross contaminated.
The next time you're at the store, check your favorite relish to see if it is labeled gluten free or if the ingredients are safe.
Is olive oil gluten-free
Yes, olive oil is gluten free. In fact, most of the commercial cooking oils are gluten free. Vegetable oil, sunflower oil, canola oil, and grapeseed oil are also gluten free. Follow the general rule of thumb to check food labels just to be sure!
How do I know if a sauce is gluten-free
If we didn't cover a specific sauce you're looking for, like bbq sauce, teriyaki sauce, soy sauce, salad dressings, or Worcestershire sauce, etc, in this post today, the easiest way for you to know if your sauce or condiment is gluten-free or not is to look at the label of your favorite brands.
If it is labeled as gluten free, you're good to go. If not, check the ingredient labels, if you see no obvious wheat flour or other gluten-containing grains listed, then look for hidden sources of gluten and if the ingredients list passes that check too, then you know your sauce is safe for you to eat.
If all else fails, you can look for an allergen statement from the brand on their website and you can even reach out to the brand and express your concerns or questions regarding whether or not this should be on your gluten-free foods list or not. The label will have a contact number for you to use to find out for certain if the sauce in question is gluten free or not.
An important thing to keep in mind- if you have a home mixed with gluten free family members and those who can have gluten, remember that condiments is a very common place where the risk of cross contamination soars through the roof. With condiments being shared between those who can and those who can't have gluten, you risk the accidental contamination, especially if you have kids using them.
One wrong move of spreading the condiment on gluten containing bread and then returning it to the jar for more will contaminate the entire bottle in no time. With that in mind, it is our recommendation to suggest that you have certain condiments that are just for those who are gluten free in addition to separate ones those who can have gluten can use and make sure everyone knows which is which so you can lower the risk of cross contaminating your condiments.
Keep in mind you can also make your own sauces or condiments if you find out that your previous favorites are no longer safe for you to use! We like to do this with certain oils, like onion oil and scallion oil.
Leave a Reply